Review of Council By-Laws

Consultation has concluded

The opportunity to review by-laws is available every 7 years!

Council’s current By-Laws are due to expire on 1 January 2015.  We are therefore initiating a review process in accordance with the Local Government Act, to ensure we have new by-laws in place when the current ones expire. To be operable by 1 January 2015 the new by-laws must be adopted and gazetted by September 2014. The following Draft By-Laws are now available for public consultation:

To get involved and have your say:

As an initial stage in this review process, we are inviting your input. We would value your comments in relation to the practical application of the current suite of by-laws and also whether you see any gaps or deficiencies in them.  

Consultation closes 25 July 2014



The opportunity to review by-laws is available every 7 years!

Council’s current By-Laws are due to expire on 1 January 2015.  We are therefore initiating a review process in accordance with the Local Government Act, to ensure we have new by-laws in place when the current ones expire. To be operable by 1 January 2015 the new by-laws must be adopted and gazetted by September 2014. The following Draft By-Laws are now available for public consultation:

To get involved and have your say:

As an initial stage in this review process, we are inviting your input. We would value your comments in relation to the practical application of the current suite of by-laws and also whether you see any gaps or deficiencies in them.  

Consultation closes 25 July 2014



CLOSED: This discussion has concluded.
  • The proposed Roads By Law 4 I think should be expanded to include the prohibition of the permanent parking of boats, large trailers and large vehicles within 5 meters of any driveway and access way, in a residential street, if the vehicle is parked within the 5 meter area, the view of the of anybody reversing out of a driveway or access way is obstructed making a dangerous hazard, large vehicles would be exempted if they are loading or unloading in a residential area.

    bgt asked almost 5 years ago

    Thank you for your feedback we will note your feedback on the proposed By-Law 4.

    In relation to your particular request I can advise that this is already covered under the Australian Road Rules Rule 200(2) which states that no vehicle over 4.5tonne and/or longer than 7.5meteres is allowed for longer than an hour in a build-up area unless it’s being worked from.

    If you do witness this in your area I do invite you to contact the Council on 8408 1111 and a General Compliance Officer will be sent out.


  • "The ability to close lakes during a determined period for all activities." this a proposed change in council laws, what will be the determined periods? and who decides these periods?

    Greg asked almost 5 years ago

    The By-Law just gives Council the legal framework and process, to be able to consider closing the lake, if Council believes that it is appropriate at some time in the future.

    When the lake will be closed and to what activities, will be determined at a later date, and by a resolution of Council, after consultation with all effect parties. Situations where Council may consider closing the lake may be upon request ie a national rowing regatta on the lake may want a section of the lake closed while their races are on and there has been some discussions about possibly closing the lake after a certain time, late at night until early morning to try and address concerns with all night fishermen disturbing the peace in front of some residents properties. However before any of these scenarios are considered by Council community consultation will need to be undertaken and all effected parties given the opportunity to have a say.

    One other possible way that this may progress would be for Council to develop a policy or guidelines about when it may consider it appropriate to close the lake and to what activities . This policy would also need to be put out for public consultation and all parties effected would have the opportunity to have a say in the policy before it is endorsed by Council.

    I hope this give you some clarification.


  • Just wanting to find out the reasons for the proposed closure of Westlakes to all activities including rec fishing , this will anger lake users , please send me some more information as to the reasons ?

    Ben76 asked almost 5 years ago

    The Council bylaw is not proposing to close the lake to all activities. The bylaw simply gives Council the legal framework and process to be able to close the lake if Council believes that it is appropriate at some time in the future. For example National Rowing regattas are occasionally held on the main boating lake and they have requested that that section of the lake be closed while their races are on. This bylaw will give us the ability to do that. If Council gets approached to close the lake for any reason a comprehensive community consultation process will occur before any decision is made, where all effect parties will have the opportunity to provide feedback. The lake is an open public space and Council will only consider restricting its use or closure where there is strong community demand or to address safety concerns.


  • Why can't issues with certain fishermen making too much noise at night be handled using current rules about noise levels instead of the possibility of banning all fishermen, even those who are quiet and annoy no one? Also if the noise rules cannot be enforced properly then how is a ban on fishing at night going to be enforced?

    Albert asked almost 5 years ago

    The Council does not deal with noise issues and currently has no power to do so as this is dealt with by South Australian Police.

    The current proposed By-Law changes would give the Council the legal framework to be able to investigate and consult on the possibility of lake closure for the future for events such as large national regattas and possible time restrictions on lake activities. However an extensive consultation would need to be undertaken prior to this consideration and implementation.


  • I don't agree that the lake should be closed at anytime. Where am i going to take my young son kayaking in a safe place. Plus we love our fishing and enjoy fishing the lake when we can, mostly weekends. Not impressed

    Fisher asked almost 5 years ago

    The current proposed By-Law changes would give the Council the legal framework to be able to investigate and consult on the possibility of lake closure for the future for events such as large national regattas and possible time restrictions on lake activities. However an extensive consultation would need to be undertaken prior to this consideration and implementation.